#LGBTReadMonth 1st–31st October: Wrap-Up

Well. That didn’t go wonderfully, which you might be able to tell by the fact I haven’t posted a round up of it until now.

The month started really well. I read

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli and Rainbow Boys by Alex Sanchez. I also started reading Rainbow High, the sequel to Rainbow Boys. Though not originally on my TBR, I also ended up reading Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx.

  • Simon Vs. was a pretty standard modern gay romance novel which was sweet and had some really good plot points. Very enjoyable!
  • Rainbow Boys, I thoroughly enjoyed, and not just for the pretty interesting story. Having been published over 12 years ago it made for a fascinating read just to see how the LGBT landscape has changed in that time. Particularly in respect to HIV and AIDS it is interesting to see both how people’s perceptions have changed and also how treatment has changed with vast medical advances.
  • Brokeback Mountain was a nice quick read. It was interesting to rad given that I have seen the film adaptation a number of times. In my opinion, Ang Lee did a very good job of faithfully adapting this short story.

In terms of audiobooks, I “read” Barefoot in the City of Broken Dreams By Brent Hartinger (Read by Josh Hurley).

  • This was a major disappointment if I am completely honest. I have loved the previous books in the series, but I found this to be a very weak instalment. I found myself getting annoyed with Russel constantly and that isn’t what I’m used to. The ending was sweet and leaves me excited for the next in the series. Let’s hope it’s back on form!

I had also planned to watch several LGBT films that are considered “must-sees” that I have not yet seen. I didn’t watch any of these and only watched one LGBT film (Were The World Mine) which I had already seen previously. #Fail.

So as you can see, the month didn’t go too well. Hopefully if it happens again, life won’t take over too much and I’ll do better. 😛

Leave a Reply

