My love of flying. A roundabout introduction to Skyfaring by Mark Vanhoenacker.

9780099589853


I can only apologise for neglecting this blog for so long. You know how it is, life gets in the way. However due to the book I am currently reading I just HAD to jump back here and write a post on it!

Sometime last year I was visiting my brother and sister-in-law and casually in conversation, a New York Times article talking about “sky countries” was brought up. I was intrigued.

I have always loved flying! I get a real rush of adrenaline during take off. One of my favourite TV shows in the past few years was Pan Am. A wonderful drama set in the 60s centered around  the pilot, copilot and stewardesses of a Pam Am Clipper jet. It’s a wonderful show that enthralled me with its 60s glamour and cold war mystery. I would highly recommend giving it a watch! Some fabulous people star in it including the ever wonderful Christina Ricci and Margot Robbie.

Anyway! I checked out this NYTimes article and absolutely devoured it! For a start the web page is beautiful. The piece though was just a wonder to me, especially the first section where the writer describes taking off in an aeroplane from a pilot’s perspective. It gave me the same rush of adrenaline that I get in actually taking off!

I was delighted to see that the article was in fact adapted from a book that was due out later that year called “Skyfaring: A Journey with a Pilot” by Mark Vanhoenacker.

When the book did come out I rushed to buy it. However as with many books it got put to onesie while I finished what I was currently reading and then forgotten about. That was until last month when I noticed that Waterstones had picked the paperback edition as their non-fiction book of the month for July. This made me add it to my TBR pile once more and finally last week I picked it up and started reading.

Mark is an absolutely wonderful writer. The passages in this book are so fantastic that I have taken to sticking tabs in the book to show me bits I will want to read again and read to other people.

I’m not even very far into the book but it was so brilliant I had to let the world know immediately. I already know this will be getting a 5 star review on Goodreads and be a book that I will treasure forever and keep coming back to to read the odd passage.

So if you want to know what sky countries are, what parts of the sky are restricted access to planes and why or even just what it means to be a pilot and about a billion other things that I haven’t even read yet then give this book a read. I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

Leave a Reply

